Weekend Review of Bloom Coffee and Tea

Bloom

Bloom Coffee and Tea Roseville

When I have court in Sacramento, or visit clients at Folsom State Prison, I make the usual SF to Sacramento pilgrimage to Temple Coffee and Tea over on 10th Street in downtown Sacramento. Today, however, an old buddy gave me a call and encouraged me to meet him at a place he was raving about called, Bloom. I took him up on his offer.

By the way, this is how the majority of reviews begin of Bloom Coffee and Tea. Such testimonial word of mouth is the order of the day, and it’s all good.

I had done my homework on Bloom before my patronage. I was already familiar with the fact that their beans originate from Verve Coffee Roasters in Santa Cruz. This fact, in and of itself, was motivation enough to make the trip, and make the choice for something new. So leaving those gloomy granite walls of Old Folsom Prison, my trusty Honda Accord headed for 100 Eureka Road in Roseville, California which is a very short hop off of Interstate 80 (for you Tahoe ski types).

I was introduced to Luke and Jacob, the two brothers who created the place. These guys are young, but don’t let that fool you. Watching them reminded me of those Russian gymnasts you know…those young kids, but they take on the world. They were beyond their years when it comes to creating a place where coffee comes first. Their demeanor was definitely all about coffee, and tea. I say coffee and tea because they are knowledgeable about both, and behind the bar they could walk the walk, and talk the talk.

Luke and Jacob

Brothers Luke and Jacob Creators of Bloom

In my typical addictive approach I usually drink alone, especially when I am reviewing a café. However, at the invitation of my friend, we bought lunch at a nearby Mexican restaurant, and brought the food into Bloom to eat. That seemed pretty casual and my buddy is a local so when in Roseville… Eating, drinking, and relaxing with friends is all a part of the Bloom vibe. The outside design is what I would call Mediterranean, and the inside is well apportioned with casual sofas, and hardwood tables and floors. They are committed to local artists and display exhibits which rotate through out the year. I was told that in the past the décor had included an old school phonograph, and that friends would bring personal vinyl to play on the old set. I am sorry I missed that.

Analog Coffee

Analog Coffee Timing is next to everything

Bloom has a unique way of offering water to their friends. Water is stored in wine bottles with wire tops. It is cold, and the bottles are clean. You take a bottle to your table or couch and enjoy it at your leisure. It is a great aid to the palette. There is a raging debate in the world of specialty coffee about the presence of water when drinking espresso. Some say offering water with your drink is offensive, and can list their reasons accordingly. Others appreciate water with shots and I happen to be one of them. I believe water is a great compliment to espresso, especially after the shot, because with water you can extend the taste experience well past the brief moments in time of consuming the shot.

Elida Estate Panama Shot

Elida Estate Panama Shot

Immediately after introductions, I wanted to see if they were pulling shots with mere blends or did they have what it takes to create with something more complex. They easily passed my single origin test. Luke piloted the La Marzocco Linea pulling shots of Elida Estate Panama from the Alto Quel, Boquete region. This is the natural process Elida Estate from Verve, and it was a pleasure to order not just one but several doubles, even late in the afternoon. The dried fruit notes were present in spades (strawberries). Jacob and Luke are artists with their Linea, and they use an old analog stop watch in the creative coffee process. Art was served in black ACF espresso ceramic. Enough said.

I thoroughly enjoyed Bloom and highly recommend it.

Coffee Cups in Bloom Coffee and Tea

Keep Drinking!

Pat

Copyright all rights reserved 2009 Pat Riggs

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

